

Second Inaugural

of

The Honorable Victor Atiyeh 32nd Governor of the State of Oregon

Joint Session Sixty-Second Legislative Assembly of Oregon House Chamber, State Capitol Salem, Oregon

> Monday, January 10, 1983 Seating at 10:30 a.m.

THE SIXTY-SECOND LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY OF OREGON MEETING IN JOINT SESSION WELCOMES YOU TO THE INAUGURATION OF OREGON'S GOVERNOR

Presiding Officer—President of the Senate



Music in Rotunda	h Army National Guard Band at Officer Earl Barton, director
Prelude Music	10:30 a.m.
Fanfare from "La Peri" — Paul Dukas Prayer from "Lohengrin" — Richard Wagner Galbas March from "The Robe" — Miklos Rozsi	University of Oregon Brass Choir Edward W. Kammerer, M.Mus. a director
America The Beautiful — Samuel Ward	University Singers, Richard Clark, D.M.A., director
Attendants	. Oregon National Guard
Ushers Eagle	Scouts, Cascade Area Council Boy Scouts of America
Processional	11:00 a.m.
Members of the Senate Former Governors State Elective Officers Oregon Tax Court Oregon Court of Appeals Oregon Supreme Court Governor Victor Atiyeh	
Presentation of Colors Oregon M	lilitary Academy Color Guard
National Anthem — Francis Scott Key .	. University Singers, Brass Choir and audience
	Reverend Thomas B. Laughlin Catholic Church of All Saints
Let There Be Peace on Earth —	University Singers

"In Oregon, These Times" William E. Stafford Oregon's Poet Laureate
"Oregon, My Oregon" — Henry B. Murtagh University Singers Words by J. A. Buchanan Arranged by Dale Barker
Canvass of the vote for Governor Speaker Grattan Kerans
Inaugural Prayer
Oath of Office for Governor · . Administered by Associate Justice Wallace P. Carson, Jr., Oregon Supreme Court
Inaugural Address Governor Victor Atiyeh
Battle Hymn of the Republic — William Steffe Poem by Julia Ward Howe Arranged by Fred Waring University Singers and Brass Choir
Benediction Dr. Emanuel Rose Senior Rabbi, Temple Beth Israel
Recessional Brass Choir Triumphal March from "Quo Vadis" — Miklos Rozsa Trumpet Voluntary — Henry Purcell
Governor Victor Atiyeh Oregon Supreme Court Oregon Court of Appeals Oregon Tax Court State Elective Officers Former Governors Members of the Senate
Adjournment



The Governor and Mrs. Atiyeh invite you to join them for an informal reception in the Galleria (1st Floor, Capitol) immediately following the Inaugural Ceremony. The public is also invited to attend a reception at the Oregon Historical Society, 1230 Southwest Park Avenue in Portland, from five to seven p.m.

HONORED GUESTS

STATE ELECTIVE OFFICERS —

Secretary of State Norma Paulus
State Treasurer Clay Myers
Attorney General David B. Frohnmayer
Commissioner Mary "Wendy" Roberts, Bureau of Labor and Industries
Superintendent of Public Instruction Verne A. Duncan

OREGON SUPREME COURT -

Chief Justice Berkeley Lent Justice Hans A. Linde Justice Edwin J. Peterson Justice J. R. (Bob) Campbell Justice Betty Roberts
Justice Wallace P. Carson, Jr.
Justice Robert E. Jones

OREGON COURT OF APPEALS -

Chief Judge George M. Joseph Judge William L. Richardson Judge John H. Buttler Judge W. Michael Gillette Judge John C. Warden Judge Edward H. Warren
Judge George A. Van Hoomissen
Judge Thomas F. Young
Judge Kurt C. Rossman
Judge Jonathan Newman

OREGON TAX COURT — Judge Samuel B. Stewart

FORMER GOVERNORS —

The Honorable Mark O. Hatfield The Honorable Tom McCall The Honorable Robert W. Straub

"OREGON, MY OREGON"

Land of the Empire Builders, Land of the Golden West; Conquered and held by freemen, Fairest and the best. Onward and upward ever, Forward and on, and on; Hail to thee, Land of Heroes, My Oregon.

Land of the rose and sunshine, Land of the summer's breeze; Laden with health and vigor, Fresh from the Western seas. Blest by the blood of martyrs, Land of the setting sun; Hail to thee, Land of Promise, My Oregon.