



Governor's GoverneT DINNER

"Chef of the Year" Award

and

honoring THE HONORABLE VICTOR ATTYEH Governor of the State of Oregon

> Presented by 'THE CHEF'S DE CUISINE SOCIETY OF OREGON, INC.



1984 Membership THE CHEF'S DE CUISINE SOCIETY OF OREGON

Silver Anniversary 25th ANNUAL

Governor's GourmeT DINNER

presented by

THE CHEF'S DE CUISINE SOCIETY OF OREGON, INC.

JACOB A. ELMER, C.E.P.C., A.A.C., President LEIF ERIC BENSON, Chairman GEORGE AKAU, JR., Co-Chairman

honoring

The Honorable VICTOR ATIYEH

Governor of the State of Oregon

October 7, 1984

Mayfair Ballroom

THE WESTIN BENSON Portland, Oregon



The Chefs de Cuisine Society of Oregon's Silver Anniversary, 25th Annual GOVERNOR'S GOURMET DINNER

– Menu ·

Potage Consomme de volaille a l'orientale

Hors d' oeuvre Froids Galantine de canard avec sauce Cumberland

Poisson Paupiettes de sole farcies aux crevettes avec a l'aneth Paupiette de crevettes farcie a la sole avec sauce Choron

> Sorbet Sorbet au kumquat

Entree Escalope de veau dans une sauce de viande avec creme et cognac Epinards Carottes Gnocchi a la romaine

Salade Laitue a la vinaigrette garnie de chanterelles et de champignons japonais

Entremets Mousse au Cointreau en paniers de chocolat Lindt

> Petits Fours Balles au rhum Fraises au chocolat

> > Cafe

Sokolblosser Reisling

Soup Clear chicken bouillon with black mushrooms and vegetable julienne

Appetizer
Duck galantine with red current sauce

Seafood Filet of sole stuffed with shrimp mousse, dill sauce Shrimp stuffed with sole mousse, Choron sauce

> Sherbet Kumquat Sherbet

Entree Medallions of Provini veal with a reduction sauce of shallots, pepper, brandy, and cream Spinach Carrots Semolina dumplings with Parmesan

Salad Butter lettuce with chanterelles and enoki mushrooms in a vinaigrette dressing

> Dessert Cointreau mousse with orange pieces in a Lindt chocolate basket

> > *Sweets* Rum balls Chocolate-dipped strawberries

> > > Coffee

Beaujolais Villages

Chefs Emeritus

Maurice Claytor, A.A.C. Gustave Groninger, A.A.C., H.E.C. John Nieder, A.A.C., H.E.C.

Junior Members

Juanita Baldwin Scott Beard Paul Beppler Sally Hanes Bergman Karon Braver Elise Cook David Fanger Michael Fleig Todd Grasee Diane Harnly James Huchspeer Patrick Hyneman Eric Jesseman Tim Krevanko Neal Risdon Kirk Ross Jack Smith Christopher Strader Ronald Takara Robert Young Mike Zauner The Governor's Dinner was conceived in the 1950's honoring the late Governor Robert Holmes. Consolidated with the Chef of The Year award banquet in 1961, the affair has progressed through the administrations of Governors Mark Hatfield, Tom McCall, Bob Straub and now the honorable Victor Atiyeh. It has helped bring public attention to the skills and artistry of the culinary profession and has enhanced our industry.

The Chef of The Year award is bestowed by the chef's peers and colleagues honoring an individual for outstanding contributions in professionalism, advancement of the culinary arts and active participation in society events.

The Chefs de Cuisine Society of Oregon has been firmly dedicated to the principal of education within the industry and has carried forth this concept through it's active apprenticeship program.

We are now in our twenty-fifth year of a tradition honoring Oregons' chief executive together with recognizing the most outstanding master in the culinary arts. A tradition our society holds dearly and will preserve for many years to come.